Fall Curriculum. AHHHHH!

old BooksImage via Wikipedia
I have been knee-deep in curriculum over the past day.  I’ve had so many ideas and plans running through my mind for our fall programming and I’m still not sure how it will all pan out.

You know…

There are a whole lot of resources out there.

Cokesbury.

Zondervan.

Group Publishing.

ChristianBook.com.

All the reviews you can read on Amazon.

We have struggled with Christian Education at Girdwood Chapel.  Education in a small church is different than education in a large church.  It’s pretty tough to figure out how to plan for kids’ Sunday School when you don’t know how many kids are going to be there and what their ages are going to be.  We’ve been young as of late and our older kids…really above 4th grade or so…have felt like the material is just way to easy for them.  More than that, however, I think they just feel too old and don’t want to be relegated to some babysitting role.  So we’re young during the kids Sunday School time.

And it’s a problem for our adults as well.  For so many years we haven’t had space for an adult class to meet while a kids class was meeting.  So, we’ve had to go off-site to a different location.  It’s been wonderful…but kind of a hassle as well.   Plus it takes time and shortens our class. 

But I don’t want to miss out on these opportunities to share the Word and teach the Faith.

And so I’ve been knee-deep in curriculum, trying to discern what will work best for the kids we HOPE to have in kids Sunday School and trying to discern how best to educate our adults both at the same time and during the week.

I’ve ordered some material now.

I’m praying.

I’m still discerning.

What would be reasonable for us to try?

What would be most helpful for where our people are on their faith journeys?

What might be attractive to those outside of the congregation?

Big questions.

Important questions.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Transformation

I have struggled with transformation, both leading it as a Pastor and experiencing it as a Christian.  Even today’s sermon dealt with my desire to have a total “ABOUT FACE” in my faith so that, instead of moments of holiness in a life filled with distractions I might have moments of distractions in a life filled with holiness.  It’s rough.  And, I’m not sure I’m doing such a good job leading the transformation as well.

So, I stumbled over to Soul City Church’s website.  They’re a church starting up in Chicago that would be fun to check out.

When looking at their VALUES, I found the following under “Transformation” that caught my attention:

At Soul City church everyone is accepted, but everyone is expected.  We believe that God created us to transform and through the power of the gospel God changes every element of our lives from the inside out.  We believe that as we are transformed into our true identity we experience freedom that liberates us to love our community in a way that promotes peace and health that can bring transformation to our neighborhoods, city, and the world. 

“You must display a new nature because you are a new person,
created in God’s likeness-righteous, holy and true.”

Ephesians 4:24 

I love that first sentence there…. “everyone is accepted, but everyone is expected.”
We don’t expect much from most folks…even ourselves.  That’s a great reminder there.  They even have the following video to drive the point home:
http://www.youtube.com/v/XxNg5K-J-KQ?fs=1&hl=en_US

Enhanced by Zemanta